top of page

Am I Where I Should Be?

We all at one point in our life feel as though we are not doing enough or feel we are not where we are supposed to be. If you admit it or not we compare ourselves to our peers, and sometimes question why are we not as great as them? Why are they so far in life and I feel like I’m not doing enough?

When I transferred over to my current college for fashion merchandising, I saw all these people in my major looking as if they had everything together. They already knew what they wanted to be in life, they had jobs lined up for them already, they had blogs with followings, and knew people in high places. I thought to myself how can I make it in the fashion industry without any knowledge of anything compared to my peers who seemed to already get everything? Is this something I want to do for the rest of my life? Yes! Fashion is something I want to do for the rest of my life, but comparing myself to them and always thinking that way will get me nowhere.

It can be hard seeing people looking like they have done so much in life and you feel like you haven’t done much. I know, I felt this way for two years at my current school. You must understand that sometimes it takes time and that they might feel the same way you do.

If you really want something, sometimes you might have to do twice the amount of work than others. Or you should ask yourself, am I really performing to the best of my ability? Stop comparing yourself to others if you are not going to do the work to change it and make yourself stand out.

I’m not saying that I don’t struggle sometimes still, because I do. I still feel lost sometimes but I’m continuing to learn to change my way of thinking. If you work hard I promise you it will pay off. It may take weeks, months, and even years but if you put your all into something that you’re passionate about you will see a positive change.

I believe that we all have a purpose in life, as cliché as that sounds, but I do. I am attending one of the top schools for fashion merchandising for a reason, and even though I've had a rocky two years I intend on making this coming school year my best. We are all important and deserve to fulfill our dreams and have the life we always wanted. We might not be where our other peers are in life, but if you work hard at what you love and are truly passionate about it, you will have everything and more of what you wanted in life.

I want you to tell me in the comments where do you want to see your life in 5 or 10 years?

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page